Mayflower by Del - Constructo

My build log went off into interspace in the Great Crash of ´13, but I have the photos, so I will try to resurrect it. It is my first build, so I have nothing to teach anyonewho knows what they are doing, but perhaps someone starting can learn from my mistakes.
I had put the first plank on before I discovered Model Ship World, and learned how little I knew, and how it should have been done. So, acting on its advice, I took the plank off, and made the bow solid, with a ‘sandwich’ of thin pine planks, then put the plank back, as below.

post-773-0-01845200-1362412007.jpg

To be continued

post-773-0-28198100-1362412300.jpg

Edited by del

• 2 weeks later...

The instructions said to plank the deck at this point, probably because it would be more difficult when the planks rise above the deck. The plans show a simple two-butt shift, but advice was to use at least a three-butt shift, with a realistic scaled-up length of 5.5 metres for the longest planks ( 75mm on the model). The centre planks went on in one piece, because the hatchways that go there will break them into shorter lengths to the eye.

The first time I made the pattern in the planking, I was disappointed not to see it at all, and to find that I had to blacken the edges of the planks, in imitation of caulking, before this was possible. The books gave a choice of ways to do this, such as using a soft pencil, or a permanent marker pen, or even running a piece of thread down the seam. I tried the first two. The penciled edges were too faint, and the marker sometimes ran, especially on end grains. I ended up running a pencil down the seams, and drawing the plank ends with the help of a ruler. The effect was OK, but if I´d known that I was going to do that, I could have laid all the planks full length, and saved a lot of effort.

post-773-0-09031300-1363294662.jpg