Plastic Kit for Beginner

galo

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to the ship building world and am very interested in getting started on my first model. Despite being new to the hobby, I know that construction difficulty varies depending on the type of boat. Which plastic kit would you recommend for a first time build? All help is greatly appreciated.

Galo,

Personally, I would recommend the Revell 1/50 scale Viking Ship as a great first ship model. It is a fairly good representation of the Gokstad ship and a fairly easy build. It runs about $30 USD and you can get it online on evilBay or hobby dealers if there is not a local hobby shop nearby.

The rigging is simple, the detailing is really nice considering the age and you can bring these out with washes. This was my first build after a 40 year hiatus.

Steve

post-647-0-97321900-1422657112_thumb.jpg

post-647-0-71071600-1422657141_thumb.jpg

post-647-0-50761100-1422657157_thumb.jpg

Edited by docidle

Current Build: Merit 1/48 Early Eco 80' PT Boat and Imai 1/50 Catalan Ship

Finished:

Revell 1/196 USS Constitution (My oldest son's school project)
Revell 1/72 Hanse Kogge
Revell 1/50 Viking Ship
Revell 1/72 U-Boat
Zvezda 1/72 English Medieval Ship Thomas

Revell 1/90 The Nina

Galo,

Ask yourself: 1) What kind of ships am I interested in?  2) How much room do I have to work in?  3) How much room will I have to display my finished model?  5) How much do I have to spend (for both kit and tools)?

Answering these few questions will give us a much better idea on what to recommend.

Regards,

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

Thanks for the feedback Steve and ccoyle!

It might sound crazy, but I have an interest in commercial shipping. However, I've noticed model shipbuilding is heavily focused on naval vessels.