I am new to all this and enjoying it immensely, however one subject intrigues and bothers me, and I guess it might be somewhat controversial. It involves the HMS Temeraire.

Why is there no model (or many models) of this ship? It could be argued she she should be more famous than the HMS Victory, a ship she effectively rescued. She is famous for battle, in art, and in history as a byword for courage, she captured the British publics imagination, and was immortalised by J M W Turner in his painting "The Fighting Temeraire".......yet I find no models of her anywhere.....unless, as my wife keeps telling me I'm "man-looking".....

Is there a reason? Perhaps there is a similar class of ship.....it was Neptune I believe.

Does anyone have any idea? I even grow and sell a rose named after her.....yet no model....it's baffling.

Many thanks......Malcolm

PS.....Surely the HMS Victory must become something of a busted flush eventually by her very popularity? But for the 2nd rate Temeraire she would probably not be here today.

Edited by Plantsman

Why no Temeraire?  You can't go down to Portsmouth and walk around on her decks.

Same thing here.  Only Constitution survived of her class, so no models of the others.

(Turner's pic most excellent.  I have a print hanging on my wall.)

It is a very good question Malcolm. It has also puzzled me.

There is I understand a prisoner of war model of Temeraire at the Wool House Museum in Southhampton. I'm not sure that is close to you but if you do get to see it please post pics. Particularly of the figurehead and figures adorning the stern. There is a bit of a debate about whether she carried a figurehead or not.

Plans of her at the National Maritime Museum are not complete but as you point out if one draws on the plans of other ships of her class one should be able to build up a fairly complete picture for build purposes.

At the end of the day though a scratch build of her would be a massive undertaking not to be undertaken lightly.