La Pinta 1492 by samejia - Amati - scale 1:65

Hello everybody, this is my first build and im full of questions, I have read hundreds of posts and the ship modeling simplified book. With this I thought I could begin. So my first post and first question, im triying to dry fitt everything but it doesnt quite match, heres what happens (see pic).

Thanks for any help you can give! does the deck piece need bending? never heard that before!

post-20809-0-53846400-1437703741_thumb.jpg

Hi there:

That last post wasn't too helpful, but I think you might need to widen the bulwark slots on the sub deck. The deck piece should have little slots around the edge that fit around the bulwark extensions. Often times these slots are not in exact position or are cut too narrowly. The sundeck piece should be flexible enough that it will just bend into place - you shouldn't have to steam bend it. Some decks I've worked with are pretty fiddly and need to be worked into place with a bit more effort than others....work the slots a bit with a square needle file to widen and/or deepen them as necessary....

You might also check the bulkheads to make sure that their tops are flush with the centre keel when they're fitted. If they aren't then the deck will ride up a bit and cause a bit of mayhem. It's hard to tell from the picture whether this is an issue or not.

Hope this helps

hamilton

current builds: Corel HMS Bellona (1780)

previous builds: MS Phantom (scuttled, 2017); MS Sultana (1767); Corel Brittany Sloop (scuttled, 2022); MS Kate Cory; MS Armed Virginia Sloop (in need of a refit); Corel Flattie; Mamoli Gretel; Amati Bluenose (1921) (scuttled, 2023); AL San Francisco (destroyed by land krakens [i.e., cats]); Corel Toulonnaise (1823); 
MS Glad Tidings (1937) (in need of a refit)HMS Blandford (1719) from Corel HMS GreyhoundFair Rosamund (1832) from OcCre Dos Amigos (missing in action); Amati Hannah (ship in a bottle); Mamoli America (1851)Bluenose fishing schooner (1921) (scratch)