How to get close fitting "connections"

OK, the threadtitle might be a bit stupid but im having a real problem here.

Im currently trying to cut and assemble the various parts of a ship's keel but im constantly frustrated by the low accuracy of my work. I tried cutting/sawing as accurately as possible but with little success. I tried leaving something "extra" to later sand it to shape with the Dremel but this isn't working either. Especialy conkave surfaces and these damnable scarph joints (can't cut them with the tablesaw since the lower side of the round blade of course cuts a bit further than the upper side) give me trouble so im asking for advice.

How do you people manage such tight connections between the various parts of your ships's keel/stem/sternparts.

From experience and I'm still learning... I'm not there yet, but getting there...  Ok... so much for the personal disclaimer.

No dremels on joints, ever!  I use files and even then have to gauge.  Just a stroke or two at a time and keep offering it up to check.  If I can, I will use a disk sander but it's only to get close.  Files finish the job.  Sanding sticks can work, but are not as precise as files.

A scroll saw can get you close.  From what your wrote it sounds like you're using a spiral blade.  Don't.  Use a flat one with appropriate tooth count. I like the reverse tooth as they don't splinter the wood on the bottom of the cut.  Just leave lots of meat to final fit.   

Rather than a scroll saw, use chisels to cut the scarfs.  I haven't got this one figured out and am still working on technique but a lot the builders use them.  Gives a clean and precise cut when done right. 

Lastly, practice, practice, practice.  Use scrap wood of course but the more you do something, the better you become.

I hope this helps. 

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds: