Hi!

I am very new to model ships and started my first kit, the Corel Half Moon. In many tutorials I read that the planks of the first layer can be placed using the small nails and after gluing remove the nails again. But why remove the nails?

I ask because I have fitted the first two planks and I bent them using the Iron method. So the planks have a nice shape of the hull but I could not bend them as exact as they did not need a little support from nails and clamps. And as the area on the rips where the planks are glued is small I would sleep better knowing that there are nails supporting the glue. Especially as the planks should stay there for hopefully many years.

Or is there a way the planks can be fixed after they are all attached to the hull? I saw an build log where the builder coated the whole first layer with wet white glue to secure and harden the planks. Is that a good idea?

Thanks for the help.

There's a couple problems with the kit supplied nails in my opinion.

1)  Even cut flush, sanding of the planking becomes an issue as the nails will tend to rip the sandpaper.  Also, they're harder than the wood so the wood gets sanded, the nails don't and you're left with little lumps.

2)  Most kit nails are steel and in wood they will start rusting.  You'll end up with discolored wood at a minimum over time.

The nails are basically used to clamp the plank to the bulkheads or frames until the glue dries and then removed.  (Hint:  Leave them a bit proud.)  On second layer of planking, they shouldn't be put through the plank as this leaves holes in the plank.  Put them next to the plank and at a bit of angle to hold the plank down.

Others will have their opinion which is one of the great things about this hobby.  There's so many ways of getting to the small point.  :)