Knot Tieing

Forgive me if this is posted somewhere as I've searched and didn't see anything listed. If someone can provide a link if already talked about that would be great.

I love ship building, it's fun. I admit I'm not that good with knowing all the lingo on all the parts, but it's about the joy of learning. This could be a noob question sure, but if not asked I will never know and maybe other's can benift. The ships I build I never finish as I tend to stop at the rigging, more so as it can be intimidating, but there is also other problems I run into.

I know how to tie a basic shoelace knot and that is part of a big problem, in which I would love to learn how to tie other knots. My question being, what knots are commonly used in tieing blocks/masts/deadeyes and such. Is it just one common knot used for most or good to utilize other knots, or just whatever I find that works, just do it?

Thanks for any feedback!

Tim

Current builds: San Fran II AL, Santa Maria AL

Finished Builds: Sharpie Shooner Midwest