USS United States by gvaughn1 - Revell - 1/96 Scale - PLASTIC - my first true model ship!

Hi everyone - as I mentioned in my "New Member Introduction" post, this is my first time truly building a model ship.  I normally build figure kits, sci-fi, fantasy, super heroes, dinosaurs, monsters, etc.  And my only experience with rigging was the Wright Brothers' model plane.

But I was at a garage sale and picked this kit up for an amazing $5!  And it was 100% complete.  I felt like a thief.   :)  But I took it home.

So here is my build log.  I'm super excited to be embarking on this voyage but slightly intimidated by the rigging.

Note: As this is my first kit, I will likely build it pretty much out-of-the-box without a lot of modifications.  (Unless I get inspired to do some customizing).

I hope to gain a lot of wisdom from this community during this process.  Anyway, here is the kit in these photos.

post-25209-0-01743800-1465360370_thumb.jpg

post-25209-0-99112100-1465360377_thumb.jpg

Thanks,
George

My first step was tackling the hull halves.  My steps were:

1. Get at the flashing with my Xacto knife
  2. Sand down the rough spots
  3. Glue the two halves together with Zap-a-Gap, aided by tons of wooden clothes pins and clamps
  4. Fill in the seams with my favorite two-part putty: Aves Apoxie Sculpt
  5. Sand it vigorously
  6. Prime it with black spray primer
  7. Tape it at the water line with Tamiya 6mm masking tape
  8. Spray the coppered part of the hull with Krylon Metallic Copper spray paint

Here it is so far:

post-25209-0-47948900-1465361220_thumb.jpg

post-25209-0-40606500-1465361263_thumb.jpg

post-25209-0-17873500-1465361289_thumb.jpg

Next up will be getting the upper part of the hull painted.  Gotta figure out the right colors.

Tools of the trade:

post-25209-0-02894600-1465361349_thumb.jpg

post-25209-0-03339800-1465361373_thumb.jpg

Edited by gvaughn1