Beforehand - sorry for my ugly English,i'm a novice.

Everyone know how old,colorless wood looks like.How can i turn my normal woods on my model to something like this?Simple gray paints won't work i expect.Real hull and deck looks like this:

b68db2ff2eab4d4719493eeec27401cd.jpg

How can i do the same but with my model?

P.S. one guy make something like that and i must to say he succeed,how does he perform such a result?

post-25495-0-57157900-1468235711.jpg

post-25495-0-77007000-1468235713.jpg

Hello Engeland, 

First of all, I believe your picture does not show a real wooden ship, but instead a replica used for movies. The extreme left of the picture certainly shows an iron hull where the orange spots are rusty patches. If so, the ship is something like a ghost ship where gray-black planks, masts and even sails would seem appropriate.

But natural wood from which sailing ships were made doesn't show this colour neither at the beginning, nor when it goes older. Instead they look something like this:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/8d/20110417_Lelystad%3B_Batavia_Haven_12_ship_at_Batavia_Harbour.JPG

The hulls were made of oak planks protected with a mixture of pitch and tar. When saying tar, you would not think of nowadays tar derived from oil which is mainly black, but instead of some wood distillates which were mostly brownish in colour. 

Try to play with acrylic paints and sanding paper. You can be amased with results

post-4738-0-95872900-1468257137_thumb.jpg

Edited by Nenad

In progress:

CUTTY SARK - Tehnodidakta => scratch => Campbell plans

http://modelshipworld.com/index.php/topic/2501-cutty-sark-by-nenad-tehnodidakta-scratched-campbells-plans/page-1#entry64653

Content of log :

http://modelshipworld.com/index.php/topic/2501-cutty-sark-by-nenad-tehnodidakta-scratched-campbells-plans/page-62#entry217381

Past build:

Stella, Heller kit, plastic, Santa Maria, Tehnodidakta kit, wood, Jolly Roger Heller kit, plastic