Paint over varnish or oil etc

I am a TERRIBLE painter  - its just a fact. So most of my models I finish in varnish or oil with maybe a few fittings etc in paint and I generally prefer that as a finish.

But the Pegasus I am on now has all that nice decoration which I didnt bother with in my Fly builds - so I thought it was time to try it.

My default approach is to first plank whole hull without piercing gunports etc so that  can be sanded nicely and I

frequently put on a light varnish coat at this point to help see all is smooth.

Then i do a much more robust varnish but protect with sticky tape, or something similar, areas where channels etc may be glued.

So, if I do that on the present hull - what do I need to do (if anything) so I can paint on top of the varnish to give a satisfactory adhesion.

Or is this just a no go ?

Does waxing or oiling instead of varnish make a difference to the answer

I painted some test pieces and actually the paint seemed to go on well - but my brain is telling me that this isnt a sensible thing to do.

Advice from expert painters please !!

Hi  Spy,

I don't consider myself to be an expert painter, they seem to be thin on the ground given the response to your post ;)

but......

I don't think painting over varnish is going to create a problem provided the varnish is given a light sanding beforehand, it is then effectively acting as a sanding sealer.

I would be less happy about painting over a waxed or oiled surface which may give adhesion  problems unless it is thoroughly cleaned down.

B.E.

I agree with BE, the only thing needed is a light sanding to give the varnish a 'tooth' that the paint will stick to. It also smooths out all the rough fibres in the surface. I use fine wire wool myself but you can use whatever works for you.

Yes thanks for that chaps.  As I say i tried several test pieces rubbed down with  a very fine glass paper and they seem fine - it was just that nagging doubt.