Chaperon by Blighty - FINISHED - Model Shipways - Weathered and aged - My first build log

Hello one and all,

I'm one model in from a brand new newbie, I have just completed the Emma C. Berry and now waiting anxiously for Model Shipways Chaperon Sternwheel 1:48 scale to arrive. The Emma was a pleasure to build from opening the box to cleaning my brushes and packing away my paints.

I'm also new to boats so I'll be looking for some advise to help me along.

I have a plan as too how I want it to look but like all good plans things change if the bar was set a little to high. My intent is to do the following:-

Build the kit as is 'out the box' with the well documented modifications to the pilot house windows and a few other changes that are still tbd. I plan to add more detailing and hopefully some suitable cargo, I'll see how it goes.

Aging and weathering the Chaperon will also be a fun task. This is something else I have never tackled however I used to paint oil on canvas pictures many years ago so I hope I still have a modest flair with a brush.

Last but not least I hope to identify the pitfalls and issues for other new builders to heed and hopefully there may be a few out there with a similar build to bounce ideas around. I obviously welcome any and all hints and tips from anyone who graciously follows this build log and sincerely hope it is useful and fun to  follow.

Special thanks to Kurt Van Dahm for getting me kicked off in the right direction, very much appreciated.

Finally, all I need now is a model it was shipped on the 3rd Jan so likely steaming it's way up the Green River as I type.

Thanks for reading, hope to cross paths soon.

Len aka Blighty.

Hi Len,

If you haven't, search on Chaperon or even riverboat here in MSW.  You should find builds.. both modified and out of the box of various riverboats.  It might be big help for ideas and also some of the pitfalls.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me