Phantom 1868 by gin007 - Model Shipways - Scale 1:96 - First build - New York Pilot Boat

Hello all,

Last year, after much debate, I bought the Phantom to start me on my way in Model Shipbuilding.  I don't have any experience at all in modeling, and it is my first venture.  I was very pensive about taking on a solid hull, as I am really quite terrible at wood carving, but my dad, who does do Norwegian wood carving agreed to shape the hull for me.  He did the Amati Drakkar, which I did the sails on for him as his one and only model ship, and it turned out great.  I sent it off with him for the hull molding and now its back, so I've been reading Chuck's practicum and the logs of others. 

I should start out by saying that the size of this model is extremely small, so I'm nervous about how tiny its pieces are, and I have pretty low expectations for the final result but I would at least like to give it a try, and maybe learn some things along the way.  My goal as a complete beginner with no background knowledge in modeling is merely to finish.  Eventually, I'd like to do the Pride of Baltimore II as I both got to see her in the Philadelphia harbor and she looks much like a schooner I sailed on in college (the S/V Westward) and/or the Bluenose, both of which have a letter better scale for me.

So, anyway, I've ordered a cutting mat, and I'm waiting on it.  I only have the tools from the deluxe kit from Model Shipways, and its going to take a little bit to get organized.

In the meantime, it looks like my Dad may have taken a bit too much off the depth of the forward area, as it is 1/8" below the -R mark but the aft deck matches perfectly.  So, I guess that might impact the waterline a little, but I don't think there is much to be done at this point.  The length of the hull is 9 1/2" but the plans show 9 1/4" so I'm also unsure if the plans are meant to be drawn exactly to scale, but the length does match the size of the hull template.