Greetings from Manitoba, Canada

rlundy90

Hi and thanks for the add to your group. I have been an avid model builder for many years, but am pretty much a newbie when it comes to model ships. I have mainly built model railroad and RC planes in the past, but didn't find them challenging enough to keep me enthused. I have built one model ship in the past. In 1975 I was in a serious motorcycle accident and ended up spending six months in the hospital in traction.  Lying flat on my back I built a Billings Boat Bluenose 11. Ended up spilling a big basin of hot water all over me and in the bed, but have to say was the most fun I ever had building a model. I ended up having to wait to finish it, until I was out of hospital. Couldn't really do any sanding in bed. Now 40 odd years later, I have decided I want another challenge, so I bought another kit from Billings, but after looking at it, decided to put it away for a bit and get something a bit more doable first. Instructions for the Billings boat are very poor to say the least and appears to be a really complicated model(Norske Love), so I purchased a Model Shipways kit that has excellent drawings and instructions(Benjamin Latham). Hope members of the forum will be able to help me out if I get stuck. Looking forward to starting the kit very soon. I am hoping to become an active member of the forum. Thanks, Ron Lundy.

Hello Ron :sign:

Derek

Derek C

A man without a goal is like a ship without a rudder --Thomas Carlyle

Current Build

18th Century Whaling Vessel "Lagoda"

Finished Builds

Triton Cross Section by Derek C 1/48 

18th century longboat by Slideways - FINISHED - Model Shipways

18th century longboat by sideways from MS plans

Hi Ron and welcome from a guy just a few "houses" over...

I wish you well with this interesting hobby and your new model. I'm sure you'll find it rewarding. I have the Norske Love as well and think you made a wise decision by starting off "easy".

Peter

Build Log: Billing - Cutty Sark