18th Century Armed Longboat by Dwight - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1/24 scale

Well I was determined not to do this , too embarrassing. Anyway here I am. I've got to the point of planking this little guy and thats a new experience !!! Those of you who have built this boat know that some master builder decided to start off the planking with an impossible task , namely edge bending. I ruined half my plank material trying to master this mysterious procedure to no avail soooo..... having been an avid model railroader for most of my life I decided to just make the darn planks with the edge bend built in. Off to Hobby Lobby searching through the selection of boxwood for one that didn't have grain running in snake patterns and using some french curves and voila one edge bent plank. I've done about 10 of these and 6 or 7 actually worked. Don't know if anyone has run into this problem or my solution but for what it's worth , here it is. Sorry for the bad photo , I'm a much better model builder than a photographer

When I finish planking and using up two or three pounds of wood filler and sq. yards of sand paper I'll post some more pics. if its still in one piece.IMG_0226.thumb.JPG.3c271c579f2941b5d387b1742ad2d9ea.JPG

Dwight

current build : Fair America by Model Shipways

Completed Build : 18th Century Armed Longboat by Model Shipways Armed Virginia Sloop by Model Shipways

Under the bench : Syren by Model Shipways ,, Rattlesnake by Model Shipways

You can’t just bend dry wood or it will break. Some people soak in warm water and bend it on the frames or use an electric bender. I prefer steam. I make a jig forming the bend in the hull, attach the wood to the front with a clamp, hit with steam and slowly bend and clamp it to the jig. I usually do four planks at a time. Let it air dry or hit it with a hair dryer. It is a learning curve you’ll soon master it. 

Regards,

Jim Rogers

Damn the Torpedoes , Full speed ahead.   Adm David Farragut.