USS Constitution by Tidbinbilla - FINISHED - Model Shipways

With some trepidation, I've started the build on this kit.  I was going to wait until this winter (when I do most if not all my modeling) to begin but decided to get an early start.  This is a bucket list endeavor.  I built two of the Revell plastic kits back in the 60's and out of that experience dreamed of building a proper wooden model.  I'm just a beginner modeler so I'll be stretching my skills to do a good job.  I've completed three models :  U.S.S. constitution and H.M.S. Victory cross-sections and the H.M.S. Victory bow section.  I consider these to be practice in preparation for this model.  To assist me, I purchased Robert Hunt's practicum which really fills in the gaps left open by the MS instructions.  Also, I'm following about five build logs in this site.  So with them and all the other useful information on the forum, I just make a good go of it.

So far, I'm assembling the center keel, keel, stern and stem.  Pictures to following once I finished the clean-up.

Thanks,

Tidbinbilla

Good luck with the build, looking forward to seeing your progress.

Jeff

In progress:
Medway Longboat 1742 - Syren Ship Model Company -1/2" scale

USS Constitution - Model Shipways - Scale 1:76

HMS Granado - CAF Model - 1:48

HMS Sphinx - Vanguard

Gidday Tidbinbilla and a warm welcome from the Land Downunder.

You have found a site where there is a wealth of knowledge and experience.

Most members will freely offer encouragement and practical advice.

I am looking forward to your photos and wish you all the best in your endeavours.

Mark.

• 1 month later...