Hi all.  I'm a newbie in this form but would like some advice.  I would rate my experience as intermediate.  I have built many wood kits for my "other" hobby Model railroading and as far a marine is concerned I have build 2 plastic Cutty Sarks (Revell?) fully rigged, one with sails and one without also a Swedish steamship called the Mariefred (Hobbyborgen?) which was plank on frame.  Now I wanted to start a new kit and was considering the Snake by Calder craft but the shop I dealt with talked me into a viking ship by Amati.  I was not happy at all with this kit or it's manufacture.  Am I biting off to much with the Snake? Appreciate your thoughts. 

Welcome to MSW, Geoff.

You've done a plank on frame so you probably have the basics down on the hull.  Rigging skills are there from the plastic kits.  I've not built the Snake but it may have it's challenges.  I would recommend that you do start a build log when you decide on a kit as it's the best way to get help.

Just go slow, and have some fun.  Wooden ships can be challenging and overcoming them is the big reason why MSW is here.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever:           

CH-53 Sikorsky - 1:48 - Revell - Completed                                                   Licorne - 1755 from Hahn Plans (Scratch) Version 2.0 (Abandoned)         

Welcome to MSW. I think you could do it based on your previous work. I tackled the Conny as my second build and I've managed so far.

Jeff