Have a extra $100.00 to spend......

Made $100.00 at the garage sale and thought I would sink it into tools for shipbuilding.

Since I'm a newbie I thought I would ask more experienced shipwrights about this.

I have a good selection of cutting blades, tweezers, razor saw & miter box, jewelers pliers, mini Dremel and electric sander. Have paint supplies as well

Maybe rigging tools (if they are really needed)? Will be starting that soon.

Any input on "must have " tools would be most welcome and appreciated.

Dave

Current build: NRG Half Hull

Previous build: MS Bluenose 

Hey Dave, I find I use a small modelling hammer all the time, depending on your eyesight, some magnifying tools may be useful too. Pin vises are always necessary, and you can NEVER have enough clamps of any size!

In my opinion, some of the fancy rigging/ratline tools/frames are a waste of money. A good selection of small chisels come in handy, and if I had any money left over I would probably stock up on sandpaper of various grades and different types of tape for masking and holding.

And what CDW said; definitely invest in a good plank bender!

Cheers

Chris

Edited by vossy

Using water and heat will achieve the same results 100 times quicker. Amati has a great soldering iron plank bender. I use that for all my bending needs. I am sure others will have their favourite methods as well, but it really comes down to soaking the wood to make it pliable, then heating it to achieve the desired shape. Once the wood is then cooled it will hold the shape.

Chris

10 minutes ago, CPDDET said:

Any thoughts on this bending jig?

It looks very interesting, but I have never used one and cannot say how useful it might be in the long haul. Vossy (Chris) also provided a very thoughtful list of day-to-day ship modeling tools. He is spot on about the need for various size and types of clamps. You can get a lot of ideas for useful tools that won't break the bank by follow the build threads here at MSW.