Siol

Does modelshipbuilding give you Cancer?

Hi all, I am new to this modelshipbuilding thing and I just found out that sawdust is a known carcinogen. Man, I generate lots of it to building the constructo Victory model kit and I started to wonder that maybe shipbuilding can be worse than smoking? I wanted to do it inside my home but now I realized I have to take HUGE precautions...i got a breathing mask, fan, wetting the wood, doing the sanding and power-tool sawing of the wood outside...

Have do you avoid the sawdust part of building the ship?

Thank you

d.

I’m with Kevin, I don’t wear any PPE (other than safety glasses).

The biggest concern for me with sawdust is the mess.  I usually sweep up when I’m done working so it doesn’t accumulate, but that’s for cleanliness and out of respect for the Admiral.

I do usually take heavy sanding (like frame fairing and cleaning up planking layers) outside, but that’s more for easy cleanup and domestic harmony than health concerns.

I suppose somewhere there is a database of which woods make the worst sawdust. I ran some iroko through the bandsaw and then a quick hit or two with a Dremel rotary sanding cylinder to tidy it up. The whole process took less than five minutes: I coughed and hacked for a week.

This made a believer out of me, I now use a mask for just about every mechanised stage of cutting wood.

1 hour ago, Captain Slog said:

I smoke whilst i am sanding. 

Well that's it for you Slog, when the dust reaches saturation point you will go up in a firey flash/explosion  and

dissolve into a vapour ball. 😉☹️

Edited by Cabbie

3 hours ago, Siol said: