Enak by raven62 - Scale 1:50 - RADIO - floating crane - Finished

Hi there,

after a short break of 26 years I've restart the build of the floating crane Enak. Based on plans  I've bought in 1993 the Build begans with the hull.

The beginning with plywood and balsa wood  was easy and the hull became quickly swimable.

But after this first success I have to realise that I'm not able to build the mechanics for the crane. No skills and no tools are on board. 

But actually I've get the needed skills in machining metal (I'm an autodidactic amateur, not a pro) I give it another try.

The actual state is

the hull is still water proof

three graupner rudder propellers mounted. I'm very excited if the will work or must replace them.

Electronics are not uptodate and will replaced.

Motors eventually too. May be with slow outrunners to save space.

Next steps will be saturate the wood with liquid epoxy to avoid swelling and build a slip.

The hull will be the single peace of wood. The deck and the cranes structure will be complete in metal.

regards

Ralf

IMG_8731.JPG

IMG_8730.JPG

IMG_8729.JPG

IMG_8728.JPG

IMG_8726.JPG

IMG_8725.JPG

Regards

Ralf

This does look to be a challenging yet interesting and unique model.  As for machining things, you'd be surprised at what can be done with hand tools and brass.  If you have access to any machine tools, that's even better.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever: