Good Morning all

I hope that I am not in contravention of the rules of MSW and if i am please let me know immediately and I will remove this post. (this is NOT about commercial gain, it is about limiting my waste and hopefully yours too)

I am a fruit farmer in South Africa with access to an almost unlimited supply of fruit woods(Pear, apple, peach, apricot and plum). As it currently sits I use this wood for barbecuing, as there are mountains of it on the farm and on farms all around me and we are creating more ever day as we pull out old trees and plant new ones.

This post consists of 2 parts, firstly, if there is anyone who would like some of this timber, either in block shape or a specific curve or curves please let me know and I will be happy to ship to you if you can cover shipping costs once the timber arrives at its destination.

Secondly, I do not want any money for this wood BUT I am a new modeller and equipment can become very expensive very quickly, if anyone would like to trade old/used/damaged equipment/plans/parts for this wood I would really appreciate it.

Please remember that the primary point of this is to not let tonnes of good pear wood go to waste so if you do need some and have nothing to trade for it please let me know and we can make a plan to get supplies to you.

Kind Regards

Haiko

Just now, Jim Lad said:

A real pity that we here in Oz won't be able to avail ourselves of your offer due to our strict quarantine regulations.  :(

John

Good morning Jim

As a matter of interest what is the process for importing foreign timber into OZ? Is it even theoretically possible? It is ultimately a good thing that you guys have these kinds of regulation. I could probably DHL a school of live piranhas into South Africa and nobody would bat an eye.

Generous thought, bad idea.

The commercial guys use kilns and fumigation and probably other methods to keep from exporting diseases and insects along with the wood.