Paul Gardner

Greetings from Tacoma. Have I taken too big a bite?

Although I've built a couple solid hull models, I came across an unopened Model Shipways Fair American for $50 and couldn't pass it up.  However, after looking at the instruction book, I must admit to a bit of trepidation.  I've never built a plank on model before and wonder if this will be a suitable first build for me, or if I've taken too big a bite for my first time.  Any comments?  Also, I'd like to to give a shout out to any and all model ship builders in the Tacoma area.  I've read many posts on this site, and it seems like there are plenty of folks that are willing to give advice.  That's an encouragement.

Paul, welcome to MSW. It is a great place to learn how to navigate through the maze and I expect you will get honest answers from members who know the kit in question.

Can I suggest you study build logs and see if the problems begin to look less intimidating? Especially interesting at the moment is this:

Rest assured, you will not find a problem that someone hasn't already solved.

Bruce

Thank you for your reply.  I've  been reading the logs, and can see where I will have to really buckle down and learn the skill.  This instruction half hull looks like a place to start, so thank you for the notice.

Paul, welcome to MSW.  This project is designed in such a way that a true novice should not have much problem.  The only power tool I used was a Dremel, and even that is not necessary.  The following was stolen from Kurt's announcement in the Nautical Research Guild announcement section.

We can now take orders for the Half Hull Planking Kit

The kit is not yet listed at the NRG Store, and when it is, we will update this, but we can now take orders through the NRG Office.  Call the office directly or send an email.  See the NRG web site for the phone and email.  (Not listed here to thwart robots/spammers)