As i have stated before - I am a RUBBISH painter - but I am trying hard to improve.

Can anyone advise on best brands of masking tape and any tips on methods of use ( best widths for specific jobs etc)

Tamiya I have always noted as strongly recommended but I see  Stuk Professional being suggested recently

I use tamiya or pactra masking tape, so far they have been absolutely the best I have used.

Best widths for jobs,  I am not really sure what to say as I kind of wing it based on the job at hand.  One tip however is to "seal" the tape.

Once you apply the tape run along the edges of the tape either with a thin coat of clear, or a thin coat of the the undercolor if you are painting over something.  The helps seal any tiny gaps in the tape you may not be able to see.   You may not see them, but that paint will attract to them something fierce and run up and under.   So if you seal it off, no more runs.    Thin coat though, too thick and you will peel it off as you lift the tape  :o

-Adam

I used to always use standard Sellotape (clear) - but have been converted to the Tamiya tape - perfect amount of tack and nice clean edges.

Ahoy Mates :D

On my plastics I used Future Floor Finish to seal the Tamiya tape and prevent bleeding. It provided a good seal with a very thin coat and no brush marks. I have not yet tried it on my wooden models but am approaching the point where I will need something.

Has anyone used this on wood.  

If Chris says Tamiya - the oracle has spoken.  

How are your good lady and yourself Chris ?

Regards

Steve

Thank you! - although when looking at some of the build logs on here, I see myself as decidedly average, if I'm honest.

We are fine, thank you - she doesn't even seem to mind a 64th scale victory on the dining room table...

And back on topic - I used copious amounts of the Tamiya masking tape for the black and yellow strips on the sides of the hull - you soon go through it when using over 6 meters per side...

Tamiya masking tape