Straightening aftermarket rigging line

DonInAZ

So, is there a preferred method for getting the kinks out of aftermarket rigging line (Model Shipways in this case) ?

I am currently just hanging some weights on it because I couldn't think of anything else to try. 

20200205_084250.jpg

Current Build: Chesapeake Bay Flattie by Midwest Products

Completed Builds:  Chesapeake Bay Crabbing Skiff by Midwest Products

I'm no expert but I have had some luck wetting the line a bit before hanging with weight and when dry apply a bit of beeswax. I use this to apply the wax, very easy to pull the line through.  https://www.amazon.com/Dritz-622-Beeswax-with-Holder/dp/B00AQ7CVPO/ref=asc_df_B00AQ7CVPO/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=216539702338&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=2393104508206025834&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9021508&hvtargid=aud-801738734305:pla-350804685305&psc=1

Edited by turangi

Many modelers use beeswax to treat rigging line. It comes in small tubes, and you can drag your line through the tip, then use your fingertips to supply the heat (it doesn't take much at all) needed to melt the wax into the line. That should take some of the kinks out. Dampening the line and hanging it, as you have done, will pre-stretch the line, which may help eliminate some sagging in the finished model.

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

I tried the beeswax first, but it had no effect on getting rid of the "kinks".  I didn't try soaking the line before adding the weights... maybe I'll try that next.

Thanks for the replies,

Don

Before you hang it under weight,  wet it lightly using a cloth soaked with a ~50% solution or lower concentration of bookbinders glue -  neutral pH PVA. 

It will stiffen the line,  is archival quality,  dries clear and if the amount used is not excessive, will not leave an outside coating.