New to ships

Minnang

Hello everyone, since I've finally started posting vs. browsing I thought I'd introduce myself.  I've been a scale aircraft modeler for over 20 years and have found that the research and learning journey is almost as rewarding as the build itself.  My interest in aircraft stems from a fascination with flight coupled with 23 years in the Air Force and Air National Guard.  However, a fascination with ships is close behind.  It's the history, people involved at the time, and how the machines I model helped change the world for good or bad that really drives my interest.  I guess my biggest flaw when it comes to modeling is a quest for accuracy and perfection in the build.  I'll never achieve perfection and only be as accurate as the research material available but I will sure keep trying.  For instance, the MS Niagara was my first attempt at a ship.  It would be a beautiful model to display, but after finding out it doesn't really represent the real ship, I have absolutely no interest in completing it.  The beautiful work that I see on this site is inspirational and I'm learning a lot.  Please be prepared for lots of stupid questions.

Niagara.JPG

And another warm welcome from Pacific Northwest.

Please, visit our Facebook page!

Respectfully

Per aka Dr. Per@Therapy for Shipaholics 
593661798_Keepitreal-small.jpg.f8a2526a43b30479d4c1ffcf8b37175a.jpg

Finished: T37, BB Marie Jeanne - located on a shelf in Sweden, 18th Century Longboat, Winchelsea Capstan

Current: America by Constructo, Solö Ruff, USS Syren by MS, Bluenose by MS

Viking funeral: Harley almost a Harvey

Nautical Research Guild Member - 'Taint a hobby if you gotta hurry

:sign:

The only stupid question is a question unasked.   Feel free to fire away with them.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds: