Can I bake it? instead of soldering. Oven soldering?? (edited by admin)

A theoretical question. I have a bunch of rings and eyebolts that need soldered, and I have never done silver solder before. Electronics and plumbing I can do, but this seems very small and fiddly. Kind of intimidating, to be honest.

What would happen, do you think, if I prepped my rings with flux and solder, put them on a cookie sheet, for example, and popped them into the oven at 450 degrees....the listed “melting point” of my solder... left them for a few minutes, and then pulled them back out to cool? Has anyone ever tried it?

7 hours ago, jamcdonel said:

What would happen, do you think, if I prepped my rings with flux and solder, put them on a cookie sheet, for example, and popped them into the oven at 450 degrees....the listed “melting point” of my solder... left them for a few minutes, and then pulled them back out to cool? Has anyone ever tried it?

Probably nothing good, no doubt. But it shows you're thinking. :D 

In theory, yes, if the oven is hot enough, the solder ought to melt. The question is whether it would flow into the joint.  I'm not entirely sure whether the flux you would use would do its job, though, depending upon the type you were using. The biggest problem you'd have would be getting the solder to flow into the joint because, in an oven, everything would heat up at the same temperature at the same time, and probably relatively slowly, causing your flux to burn off and the metal to oxidize before your solder melts and flows. And, if it does work, you may find all your rings soldered to your wife's cookie sheet at the end of the exercise!