Katy of Norfolk by Jeff5115 - Model Shipways - first build

1. This is my first build. I tried a POF over 30 years ago and it was a disaster.  I am giving it another try but decided to try a solid-hull instead of tackling planking. I selected the Katy of Norfolk by Model Expo. It appears this had been a planked model but has been reintroduced as a solid-hull model.

Original Hull 1.jpg

Original Hull 2.jpg

Current Build

18th Century Armed Longboat-Model Shipways

Completed Build

Lady Eleanor-Vanguard Models

King of the Mississippi-Artesania Latina

Future Build

Vanguard Models- Alert

Jeff Farber

The hull has been shaped and rough sanded. Next I will sand to its finished stage. A few spots will need some wood filler as the hull came missing wood in a few spots when it was machined by the vendor. I am thinking of putting on a couple of thin coats of shellac on the hull before painting.

I was pretty nervous to start carving out the bulwarks to 1/8 of an inch but I took my time and I think they came out OK by my standards.  Removing the wood for the cockpit was difficult since I did not have a set of small gouges. Although it looks rough I think the cockpit will hide this area.  

While this is all new to me my goal is to complete this project.  I expect to make mistakes but already I am having so much fun and I hope other members can help and guide me along the way.

Sanded Hull (1).jpg

Carved Hull.jpg

Current Build

Completed Build

Future Build

Vanguard Models- Alert

Jeff Farber

8 hours ago, Jeff5115 said:

I tried a POF over 30 years ago

Being unforgivably pedantic,