HMS Speedy by NewbyMark - Vanguard Models - Scale 1:64

Hi all. Really enjoying this site and have returned to ship modelling after a long break. There are already several HMS Speedy logs, and I've hesitated to add my own because I'm not particularly talented at modelling ships. My background is mainly multi-media car kits, but I really enjoy working with wood and this particular kit is really so well thought out and with such great materials that I am thoroughly enjoying the experience. I've started the log in the interest of learning from those of you who are clearly more experienced and talented than me. So feel free to comment or suggest improvements.

I'm up to the second layer of planking and have just started planking the inner bulwarks. I've made plenty of mistakes, but so far it's looking ok aside from using filler which is not a good colour match in the outer planking. In general I've found the pearwood a bit pale anyway so I'm looking at staining it before airbrushing a varnish - hopefully it will work out ok in the end. Chris has been patient and helpful where I've had issues, for which I've been grateful. 

A few pictures of my progress so far below. 

IMG_1680.thumb.jpeg.433aac377465489bc607b1b327484c3d.jpegIMG_1703.thumb.jpeg.405c08a6d65593d18fe34be09bd10475.jpegIMG_1722.thumb.jpeg.e63534ff38ad900268d5dd0e163be5e8.jpegIMG_1820.thumb.jpeg.3282b6f784cf7a343e5a24cc5bc0de69.jpegIMG_1949.thumb.jpeg.693efcfe51bb0168fd503ba9b73319d3.jpegIMG_2005.thumb.jpeg.7a35752d345031566ef57e68dc8a61df.jpeg

Welcome to the Speedy club. Mine is still in the box waiting until my current project completes.