Sign in to follow this  
VinceP

1/72 PT-109 into a 1/87 scale coast gaurd cutter

I have a 1/72nd scale revell 1980's kit.

And I'm wanting to cut and alter the hull to make a 1960's-1970's era Coast Guard Cutter.

But have no idea where to find an image,  drawing,  or plan of this cutter. 

I will be building from the deck up from scratch and the hull will be cut to narrow it down. 

My main issue is the length I'm after is 95 feet to 125 feet,  then I have no idea what my beam would be along with my draft/draught.

I have a 1/87 ho scale ruler to get my scale measurements from. 

Sorry if some of this is repetitive not trying to. 

Thanks for any and all assistance it's much appreciated. 

Hello Vince, I'm a Coast Guard veteran and the Cape class of cutters was 95 feet in length. 36 of them were commissioned in the mid to late 1950's and continued to be in service for many years after that. Most of them have now been sent to foreign countries and the others have been decommissioned. They had a beam of 20 feet and a draft of 6' 5". I did not serve on one of them but I've been aboard several of them in the late 60's. 

You can read more about them here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cape-class_cutter

1117439816_ScreenShot2020-04-16at12_16_50PM.png.901c1c02040585507fd188bec86b440f.png

To be honest Vince, I can't imagine why you would want to try bashing a PT into a USCG patrol boat. The CG never had boats of the size you are interested in with a planing hull.

As for measurements, I have one of the old 95 footer models and you are welcome to take the needed measurements from it if you wish. 

On 4/17/2020 at 1:04 AM, lmagna said:

To be honest Vince, I can't imagine why you would want to try bashing a PT into a USCG patrol boat. The CG never had boats of the size you are interested in with a planing hull.

As for measurements, I have one of the old 95 footer models and you are welcome to take the needed measurements from it if you wish.