Lock Down Trouble: Blackening Copper and Brass with Essential Items

I am new to ship building and have just discovered the concept of blackening my copper and brass pieces (instead of using primer and black paint and still ending up with flakes coming off with handling). I have one big problem, however, I am currently a part of the strictest Covid lockdown in the world and can't buy anything other than essentials which, unfortunately, does not include anything sold at a hardware or jewelry store or bought online. From the reading that I've done, it seems that anything short of liver of sulphur gives too variable, brownish, green and/or short lived results (boiled eggs, sulfur ointment under heat, combo of salt, ammonia and vinegar). I want it to be properly black and to stay that way. Is there any chance anyone knows of anything that would be available as an essential item(s) that would do the job? I know I'm grasping at straws here but lockdown still has 16 days to go at the very least, maybe longer...

Not likely that you'd be able to source anything that would be satisfactory given your restrictions. (I feel your pain. At least we are still able to order stuff on line here!)

You may consider that it's been reported by some very good modelers that liver of sulphur (the gel is best... it has more shelf-life) can be applied to clean parts after they have been installed on a model by simply painting it on. It does not discolor adjacent wood. They do this because the blackening will sometimes rub off a bit when handled. Blackening the part in place reduces that problem. So, you might be able to continue working and defer the blackening until you can source your liver of sulphur. 

Hello Candice,

I don't want to guess how the rules are applied in your area but gunsmiths use chemical blackening solutions as well. If anyone who is still trading overlaps that industry perhaps they can help?