Chris-Craft 1956 Capri by Cleat – FINISHED - Dumas - Scale 1/24 – My first build

For my first wooden boat kit I chose the Dumas Chris-Craft 1956 Capri.  I wanted a modest kit to learn the basics and the kit offers a good introduction.  I really like wooden inboard boats – they have a special sound.  

As a woodworking hobbyist I’m discovering that I’m not used to working with small parts.  Since this is my first build, I am including my mistakes. 

The Dumas kit is complete, they say there are more than enough planks (I have extra pieces after planking).  The drawing is very helpful and the instructions provide enough instruction to complete the kit (I’d like to see more tips).  I use the plastic base as a place to store the project as I work on it.  I’ll replace the plastic base with a wooden one that emulates a slow wake. 

Chris-Craft-100.jpg

Completed Build:   King of the Mississippi by Cleat

The frame assembly is straight forward but I managed to make a mistake. 

Mistake #1

I didn’t fully seat one of the bulkheads (I discovered the problem when I stated planking).  I had to sand down the top and add material to the bottom. 

Chris-Craft-103.jpg

I have never bent wood before so I found a video to find out what to do.  I soaked the ends of a couple pieces in warm water for about 20 minutes then used an iron to work the bend.  I inadvertently creased the bend with the edge of the iron but that turned out to help the bend.  I’d clamp the planks until they dried.  Then I’d glue and clamp them again.  I noticed that I created different arcs on each plank and I ended up with uneven planking (yellow glue is a structural component in my build).  

Chris-Craft-110.jpg

Chris-Craft-111.jpg

Mistake #3

I got a bit over zealous when sanding and shaping the bow.  I should have snuck up on it and kept the dark edge intact.