Brand new to wood ship modeling and could use some advice.

First I just want to say how excited I am to have found such a cool and impressive level of modeling. I am a fine finish carpenter with high skill levels in cabinet making, furniture, and a multitude of other fine finish skills. I work with zero tolerance for imperfection on very expensive wood and projects were one cut off even 1/128th can cost the project more than one of my paychecks. I have been researching for weeks and can't decide what level to start at. I am not naive and think I can start on a high level hms Victory or one like it. If someone is willing I could use some advice on what level to begen with and maybe some kits that might be appropriate for me. Also I can read plans from any level when pertaining to construction but am wondering if I should buy a practicum or not. Thanks in advance and more than appreciate the level of skill required to accomplish these pieces of what I consider to be fine art. It's very impressive and humbling.

Edit: I have been looking at the hms badger, the Bluejacket plank on frame America and the phantom. Problem with the phantom is its a solid hall. Not knocking it. I just am interested in the construction detail and application more than the shaping of wood. If any one knows a maker of a pof or pob phantom I would be very interested because I do like the ship a lot and also am wondering if a pof is a stretch considering its my first. Ultimately plank on frame from scratch is the goal but obviously the build up of skills, knowledge and even tools is necessary before such a project.

Also I want to be clear that stating my skill set in carpentry was not to brag but to find out if people thought they may apply to the model ship building world.

Edited by Enderwiggin