HMS Victory by John Allen - mamoli - 1/90

Need advice, when coming to the placing of the grenades in lower deck all I found looked more like cannon balls. Found some plastic beads 11/0 at a Wal-Mart but need some honest opinions, I have no ego so if more experienced modelers say it does not look right I will tear it out and redo before I proceed further.

They were to shiny and I brushed with a flat clear acrylic.

post-2805-0-21943300-1369927308_thumb.jpgpost-2805-0-86986200-1369927327_thumb.jpg

Also researched plank bending tools on this site. I had used a soldering iron on my armed launch and found it tedious but did not want to spend thr money for commercial plank benders. I cannot remeber the builders name but he used a tin can and tea candles. I tried it this date and was amazed. Bent 6 planks in less then 2 or 3 minutes. Tried wet and dry wood, wet seems to be faster.

To the point of lying in the gunports and start to plank, had stained decks which need 1 more sanding.

John Allen

Current builds HMS Victory-Mamoli

On deck

USS Tecumseh, CSS Hunley scratch build, Double hull Polynesian canoe (Holakea) scratch build

Finished

Waka Taua Maori War Canoe, Armed Launch-Panart, Diligence English Revenue Cutter-Marine  Model Co. 

Thanks can does work great

John Allen

On deck

USS Tecumseh, CSS Hunley scratch build, Double hull Polynesian canoe (Holakea) scratch build

Finished

Waka Taua Maori War Canoe, Armed Launch-Panart, Diligence English Revenue Cutter-Marine  Model Co. 

Oh did you glue on the upper deck? It will give you some troubles when it comes to putting the cannons in place as the instructions say to feed them through the gun ports onto the carriages (they fit, but only if the carriage is delicately placed). It might be easier to plank up the sides (both layers of planking) and finish that part (including painting/finishing) and then place the fully build cannons into position, and then glue on the upper deck.