Hello from North Carolina

I'm now in my seventies but remember building model aeroplanes and boats when I was a kid. I can still remember the smell of dope as I brushed it onto the tissue paper that covered the wings and fuselage of a Spitfire (I guess dope is no longer sold for obvious reasons). Anyway, I decided I needed a new hobby so I ordered the Amati Scottish Fifie Fishing vessel as my first endeavor. I am a woodworker having built many clocks and furniture so am quite skilled, but I'm sure building this boat will test those skills. Wish me luck.

Alan

Current build, Disar Models - Altsu Mendi Basque Tugboat. Kits on hand for next builds: Victory Models - Scottish Fishing Vessel Fifie: Vanguard Models - Zulu 'Lady Isabella': : Mantu Models - Trotamares Motor Schooner. Finished, Chris Craft Runabout.

Alan, Welcome to Model Ship World.  Thanks for the memory of building balsa planes and the smell of the Ambroid glue and the dope.  I always enjoyed painting the planes.  I look forward to seeing your Scottish Fifie Fishing vessel and I hope you will start a build log.  This is a very enjoyable hobby and you have come to the right place to get advice and share your success on your build.

Ryland

Member - Hampton Roads Ship Model Society

- Ship Model Society of New Jersey

- Nautical Research Guild

Current Build - Armed Virginia Sloop, 18th Century Longboat

Completed Build - Medway Longboat

Alan,

Indeed - Welcome to Model Ship World! I guess most of us in our 70s remember applying dope to balsa & paper, etc. You'll find a lot of help on this forum, so don't hesitate to ask questions, etc. I too, have had my hands in other forms of woodworking and have one Emperor Clock on the wall, to boot!