Hi All

I'm coming to the end of my current build which is a steam powered Italian tug which over the past 3 years has turned out nicely.  I cut all of my own planks and parts and made just about everything in good old fashioned kit bashing style.  I've about 6 months left on it before its first sailing.

I joined this forum as I want to move onto fully framed ships built from plans and have learned much.  I have learned that I absolutely cannot draw from plans or use CAD simply because I have no real interest - I am a builder its as simple as that.  I can read plans and follow them and that is the limit of my skills in this area.  I'm sure that many other builders have a similar blind spot but maybe in another aspect of our hobby.

I've also learnt that there is no way I can, or want to just jump in and try and build a man o war.  I want to start off slowly and build confidence when I make the many up and coming mistakes along the way.

So I'm thinking about starting with a detailed cross section.  I don't want to buy a kit as I have all of the necessary tools and wood to make the parts.  But I don't want to have to do any draughting whatsoever.  I have read quite a few books but being a bit dyslexic doesn't help much either.

So now that you know my failings with regard to building anything really - Could anyone recommend a way forward for me.  I would like to get some really detailed plans that show the novice how things are done if there is such a thing.  Maybe there isn't but I would be very grateful for any input for my future build.  I also like the idea of building in 1/48 as my current build is quite big and I found it a great size to work on.

Thanks Mark