Lady Eleanor by Blue Ensign - FINISHED - Vanguard Models - Scale 1:64

Building a Fifie

Well Chris has done it again, he does have a knack of producing very appealing kits.

When I saw Chris’s kit of this iconic Fishing vessel of North East Scotland, it seemed to meet a particular need I have at this moment.

In the present covid 19 situation I have been feeling a little restless, a little unsettled, with a reluctance to commit to a more involved project such as my Royal Barge kit, as I had intended, following completion of the Alert Cutter build.

The Fifie fits the bill.

A model of moderate size that won’t require casing.

Straightforward construction unlikely to present me with excess brain ache or worry.

A relatively short build-time project.

A project allowing me to research a vessel type I’ve little knowledge of and an excuse to buy more books – already arrived.

and finally a change from the naval vessels I have been building over the past many years to date.

I did wonder about doing a build log on the Fifie, given that James H has mostly detailed the kit both in his kit preview and build log.

However, writing about a model as I build it is something I have got used to doing, and it will also fill in time during our current lockdown situation.

The kit arrived today, securely packaged.

First impressions are very good, a beautifully presented manual, and clear plans together with great materials.

Two things that particularly caught my eye.

The maple veneer laser cut deck, nice colour and layout; I doubt I will bother individually planking the deck on this one.

The sail set;

I’ve never been a fan of cloth provided sails on models invariably too thick and coarse.

The sails provided with the Fifie (albeit at extra cost) are altogether different.

The material is fine and soft, the stitching and bolt ropes beautifully done, and I’m pleased I invested in this ‘extra’