Rigging for Dummies?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie who's building his first kit, the Bon Retour from Artesania Latina. The ship itself is constructed and I'm now at the point of working on the rigging. Unfortunately, there are three factors working against me here: 1) my knowledge of rigging is minimal, 2) the instructions are no help (basically just saying, "Follow the diagram"), and 3) the diagrams are not as helpful as they could be (and not all "ropes" are labeled). I suppose I could add a fourth: the rigging in the photo on the kit's box is not identical to the rigging diagrams! I'm wondering if there is any sort of "Rigging for Dummies" resource out there?

In particular, I'm having a hard time figuring out where and how the running rigging ties down. (The standing rigging is straightforward, as are the places that the running rigging attaches to the spars and mast.) I just learned today, for example, that halyards often connect to eyebolts on the deck, as appears to be the case here, since there are two halyards and two eyebolts on the deck. But beyond that...things get confusing quickly, so this is kind of information I'm looking for.