Is there an easy wooden tall ship out there to build?

thegrindre

Hi all,

Newbie here wanting to know if there is a simpler wooden tall ship to build out there than the ones I've seen here in the build logs? Sheesh, those look so complex. I want to try something I might be able to finish in my lifetime. (I'm 72 now) :D I don't mind spending a few days or even a few weeks building but I've seen some who have been at the same ship for years. :wacko:

Thanks, guys,

Rick

a.k.a. Rick

'Don't fry bacon in the nude'

Current Build: Billing Boats, S/L Livingstone, a.k.a. African Queen (When it arrives that is)

Next Up: La Nina

A few weeks might be tough for a tall ship (at least as far as I know). A lot depends on how much extra detail you add and how much time you can spend on the build. Ships with a single mast would Probably be on the complex side. I’m biased because I am building it, but I think the Vanguard HM Alert is a great starter kit. Of course there have been some great builds of the Caldercraft Sherbourne which might be in the same level.

When you say wooden do you mean the original ship is wood, or that you want to make a wooden model? If the former, you might consider plastic kits, which all the parts are already made and you don't have to assemble frames or bulkheads, plank the hull etc etc, with a great saving in time or effort.

But if you want to make the model itself out of wood, I'd suggest a solid model, carved from a single piece of wood, or else built up of "chunks"of wood that are then shaped to the curves of the hull.

image.jpeg.98a45f09d1b14277315468efcb19acb2.jpeg

This used to be a very popular way of making models, and can  result in a very fine ship indeed. Particularly if you ar portraying a later (i.e. 19th century or later) ship where the hull is completely painted, there's no need to show the planking at all. I don't know if you can get kits that are done this way, or if you have to scratch-build.