US Brig Syren by rlcpowell - Model Shipways - Scale 1:64

Hi all.  This is my second ship build and also new to the forum.  I’m almost done with my first, a Blue Jacket Ship Crafters Red Baron.  I am down to painting which is a process so I decided to start on the Syren.

At first I was not going to post my ship build because I am a newbie to this hobby.  After reading all the supportive comments and suggestions in other builds I decided I was being an idiot.  With that said I have started and here are my initial pictures.  I look forward to comments and suggestions.71DC45BA-7E14-4EFB-9ABD-650DD4611680.jpeg.88b128cf0233a1326a66b74e759b2787.jpeg667C2CCC-72D2-49FF-B90D-3D95AC4F7416.jpeg.37f62057921410b56d2c508f1d9bfa99.jpeg7E3ECB15-8894-4260-9BB1-98CBA6DF359C.jpeg.ce4505a463692e182a9d0dd5712c2312.jpeg

Hi Ric, welcome to the forum! I’m sure you’ll be glad you decided to post you build log here. I’ll watch and learn.

Barry

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore is a habit, not an act.

~ Aristotle 

I could carry, paddle, walk and sing with any man I ever saw. I have been twenty-four years a canoe man, and forty-one years in service; no portage was ever too long for me, fifty songs could I sing. I have saved the lives of ten voyageurs, have had twelve wives and six running dogs. I spent all of my money in pleasure. Were I young again, I would spend my life the same way over. There is no life so happy as a voyageur's life!

~ The Voyageur, Grace Lee Nute

Good luck with your build!! I'll follow along! 

Current: 

USF Confederacy - Model Shipways (Build Log)

HMS Pickle - Caldercraft (Build Log)

Complete:

Virgina 1819 - Artesania Latina (Gallery)

U.S. Brig Syren - Model Shipways (Build Log, Gallery)

On the shelf:

Armed Virginia Sloop - Model Shipways