A Connecticut Yankee in California

CTYankee

Hello everyone,

My name is James and I am not just new to this community but I am COMPLETELY brand new to the world of model ship building. I grew up on the coast of CT and have lived in a number of other coastal cities so I have always been drawn to boats and the history of shipbuilding, though I have spend only a small time on the water myself.

In my youth I built a few plastic models here and there. More often than not I ended up with my fingers glued to the plane/car I was building, uneven paint and crooked decals. All of the above generally a result of rushing into things. I am hoping that with a number of additional years under my belt I can learn to take it slow, enjoy the process and improve the quality of my work. Especially detail work- this is the area where my projects fall apart.

This is ironic, because I have a very critical eye for detail. I am a mechanical engineer who works in the world of product design. In my profession I lead teams that design consumer electronics products that at times work in micron and sub-micron accuracy. This model ship building endeavor will require an interesting balance between my instinct to grab the calipers and measure down to 0.01mm and the use of CAD, CNC and automation to achieve shape and symmetry and the need to find a solution with hand tools and technique.

I am looking forward to share my project with you all (and to receive some help along the way). My first boat is the “Red Baron” by Bluejacket. It might take me quite a while as I balance the time demands of life and work with the need to go slow and learn new things on the way. I am on page 2 of the instructions and I already find myself in a state where I am doing more strategizing and thinking than doing- which for right now is fine by me.

I will be starting a build log soon. See you all there.

James

Current Build: Lobster Boat Red Baron (Bluejacket)