Hi from Northern England

Genny

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, and I chose as my first build, The Beagle from Occre.  Two reasons for my choice. Firstly the excellent tutorial vids on youtube as being a new builder I had no idea how clear the instructions would be and I didn't want to fail at the first hurdle.

Secondly, I read a book in 2008 and it turned out to be my all time favorite book ever. If I could only take one book to a desert island this would be it.  This Thing of Darkness by Harry Thompson

1675308295_Thistthingofdarkness.jpg.56e4adb4233aa63979290ae3d38cffaa.jpg

I originally found this in the library, loved it so much I promptly went out and bought it so i could read it again. 

I've quoted one of the 5 star reviews on Amazon from C. E. Utley of the book below as I can't possibly do it justice myself.

What a tour de force!

Truth is stranger than fiction. Though Thompson's novel is, indeed, a novel, the most extraordinary events which it depicts all actually happened. The dialogue and the insights into the main characters' minds are provided by Thompson, but the astounding basic facts are provided by history.

The book is very long. It runs to well over 700 pages. But every one of those pages will be devoured with greed by all but the most unimaginative readers.