ISO: Enamel tips for beginners

Hi All-

Can anyone point me to some good tutorials (video or otherwise) on brush application of enamel paints, preferably on wood? I am a total painting newbie. I just started priming the hull on my first model and am scratching my head. FYI- I am using True North paints that came with my Blue Jacket kit. I know lots of folks like Acrylics but I am trying to stick with the paints from the kit because as a beginner I am hoping to work through the kit with as few 'ad ons' as possible so that other total newbies like my self can try to emulate without buying a whole bunch of extra stuff. 

To that end, I am not using the brushes in the kit at this point because they seem too small for the large surface of the hull. I am using the 10mm brush from this kit that I had knocking around like these: https://www.amazon.com/Artists-Loft-Fundamentals-Natural-Brushes/dp/B01CV00MQS

I have been practicing on various scraps etc and am having trouble finding a recipe. My questions are generally around:

1) Thinning- I have gotten droppers so I can be precise with dosages but cant find a good balance between something that goes on without at least some amount of brush strokes and something that is basically a wash. I cant seem to get that nice self leveling I have heard so much about.