U.S. Coast Guard Models

swasson

I'm a scale modeler specializing in scratch-building U.S. Coast Guard vessels for radio control operation.

I have built a 36' Motor Life Boat, a 38' Picket Boat, a 52' Motor Life Boat (Intrepid) and a 180' Iris class Buoy Tender (WLB 394 Hornbeam)

I have planned to build a 25' 8" Motor Surf Boat and a 30' Surf Rescue Boat both in 1 1/2" to the foot scale but at age 81 have lost some of my small motor skills and feel I could not do them justice.

I have plans for both and have framed-up the 30 footer.

I have a custom made brass skeg attached to the keel and stem plywood layout for the 25 footer with the prop shafts bored and station lines marked.

I am attaching photos of both as well as some of my completed models.

If anyone is interested in completing these two boats, please get in touch. I am in suburban Philadelphia.

Sam Wasson

IMG_0274 boat.JPG

IMG_0277 boat.JPG

IMG_0279 boat.JPG

IMG_0280 boat.JPG

IMG_0282 boat.JPG

suzy's camera 772 - Copy.JPG

suzy's camera 770.JPG

suzy's camera 774.JPG

Welcome to Model Ship World Sam.  You have some really nice looking models.  It must be a lot of fun to build a model and then get to run it on the water.  The Philadelphia Ship Model Society is near you.  They are currently meeting by Zoom due to the Covid 19 pandemic.  Here is a link to their website: https://www.philadelphiashipmodelsociety.com/

Ryland

Member - Hampton Roads Ship Model Society

- Ship Model Society of New Jersey

- Nautical Research Guild

Current Build - Armed Virginia Sloop, 18th Century Longboat

Completed Build - Medway Longboat

On 10/8/2020 at 4:27 PM, Ryland Craze said: