What Scriber is best for simulating deck planks in plastic?

Go to solution Solved by P_Budzik,

Hi, I hope someone can give me some guidance. 

I'm building the Revell 1/96 Constitution. I'm planning to glue up the three spar deck pieces, fill the seams and then scribe the planking as done by force9. But I have never done this before and I'm not sure what scriber will give me the best results.  

To get some Idea of the look I'm going for, here's a photo of my bulked up inner hull which is made from actual "planks" of .04x.156 Evergreen strips, which I sanded with 80 grit to get a wood grain I also hit the corners of the strip to get some chamfering PlankingBulkhead.thumb.JPG.d97e28337780b335e1d41a611ded0282.JPG

Hmm... I see at this magnification that I have some cleanup to do, and the seams aren't as consistent as I would like. Still if I could get the deck to look like this I'd be happy. 

Here's a piece of scrap that I hit with the 80 grit and then used a #11 Excato to scribe the lines. 

ScribedScrap2.thumb.JPG.6c6e46d6bd0ed49c8b773226ac279c09.JPG

I'm not really happy with this. The Exacto seems to be raising ridges as it cuts instead of making an actual 'V' like I have with my planks. If I sand this the seam all but disappears. 

I tried a straight pin with the head cut off  in my pin vise, but that result isn't even worth showing. Much too fine. 

I found a carbide tipped scriber at Home depot whose tip was about the size of a toothpick. That seems too big. 

From what I have been able to learn there seem to be two types of plastic scribers available. Those like the Tamiya work like a box cutter - you drag the hook along to scribe the piece. But will this really be any different than my Exacto? 

Those like the ANSAI look more like chisels, but I guess you use them like an Exacto (I don't see anyone pushing them like you would a chisel). 

I don't see how any of these could take out a "V" shaped channel which is what (i think) I really want.