DSiemens

America's Cup and the AC72

I've recently gotten into the America's cup and I find it all fascinating.  I admit it's highly political and seems the rules are always changing to help the favor the winner holding onto the cup.  Still the mix bag of boats and strategies is intriguing.  The recent change to the AC72 and the foiling technology I find a really cool.  I read somewhere that they are reaching speeds of 100 KPH.  Have to admit that's crazy fast for a sailing vessel.  

I've also read a lot of skeptics.  Many don't like the AC72 because the cost involved is keeping teams out of the race.  Seems though except for maybe just after WWII part of the strategy for holding onto the cup or obtaining the cup was who can through the most money around.  So really has anything changed? 

I am still new to the Americas cup and honestly I don't know a whole lot so I figured there maybe some people out there who have followed this more closely that can share some opinions and thoughts on the upcoming races or the America's cup in general.    

Oracleac72march2013-600.jpg   

I am an absolute fan of America's cup. I can boar you to tears with all kinds of info and history (I know I have done it before! :huh: ) It certainly is imperfect and has set as much precedent in the court room as on the water but it is the America's Cup and there is nothing else like it. 100 KPH might be a bit on the high side. All I can tell you is that these new AC72s can go 2X wind speed! That by itself is amazing. Just think lifting 7 tons of boat & crew on 2 tiny struts!

Have I mentioned that I will be in SF for 2 weeks for the finals in Sept! I will post pics here is anyone is interested.

Also remember that the original America was built by 5 Fat Cats in NY who wanted to win some wagers against the Brits! I think they would be very surprised to see what they started.