Wipe On Poly Techniques

Hey Guys!

New member onboard here! I’ve been reading (more like studying), some of the incredible build logs and I’m just so taken by the awesome models and techniques. My first build will be Chuck’s Medway Longboat and I have some questions on using WOP. First, I’ve never used WOP before, and I’ll be using MinWax Satin WOP.  I see that you can use a cloth or a brush to get into nooks and crannies. Does WOP need to be sanded between coats or just add the next coat after a couple of hours? Is there a preferred technique to using WOP for best results? Really looking forward to starting my project on 1/1/21 but need some guidance using WOP. Thanks guys!

Rick

Wipe on polyurethane is simply thinned polyurethane varnish or "clear coating," if you will. It's marketed for folks who don't want to go to the trouble of mixing their own and for that convenience they pay the price of polyurethane varnish for a can half full of far less expensive thinner. :D  The same result can be achieved using a mixture of half boiled linseed oil and half turpentine. Either way, the "preferred technique" is getting it on the wood however works for you, and then wiping off the excess before it starts to dry. It's really no different than any other oiled wood finish, save for the chemical components of the coating itself. As the man says, "Follow the directions on the can."

How many coats to apply and whether you feel the need to sand or not are matters of personal taste. As with all finish and wood species combinations with which the user is not completely familiar,  one should always test the application on a piece of scrap wood of the same species (and preferably the same color, if colors vary in the species) to ensure the result desired. Nothing's worse than ruining a work piece with a botched finish!

Edited by Bob Cleek

On 12/24/2020 at 2:15 AM, Bob Cleek said: