"Splice the mainbrace, me hearties!"

Renown1980

Hi All,

With a little dabble in modelling many years ago, I have been modelling solidly for about 25 years building plastic kits of various subjects in various scales. On the nautical front, I've built plastic kits of submarines , an MTB and currently scratch building (albeit slowly) a tug and gearing up to scratch build the Japanese steamer 'Fushimi Maru' in 2021...all in plastic.

As my username may imply, I have a naval connection in that I served in the Royal Navy, the last ship (submarine)  being HMS Renown SSBN. Nearing retirement and more time, I am keen to build ships bearing the name Renown and so my journey has led me here.

I have no knowledge of sailing ships, where to find plans & data, what's possible in what scale, etc and I will be calling upon the expertise of MSW to help me. As a heads-up, Wiki states:

• 1651 20-gun fireship, a captured French frigate(?) named Renommee.
  • 1747 30-gun fifth rate ship, captured French ship named Renommee.
  • 1774 50-gun fourth rate ship.
  • 1798 74-gun third rate ship.
  • 1857 91-gun second rate ship.

All the best for 2021

Stuart

Welcome, Stuart.

As far as I know, there is a kit for only one of the Renowns (your list does not include the battlecruiser of 1916 or the 1895 pre-Dreadnought). Euromodel makes a kit of the 1747 Renown, which was originally built and launched in France in 1744 (see kit listing here). The others would have to be scratch-built. All of these are ship-rigged vessels with a lot of guns -- each will be a considerable challenge to build, supposing that you can find the plan resources you would need. My advice would be to start with a simpler model representing a vessel from the same time period, perhaps a cutter, schooner, or brig. There's a pretty fair slate of kits available for such subjects, and one of them would serve as a good introduction to modeling in wood.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina