HMS Granado 'cross section' 1742 - 1:48 - CAF Model - by James H

Hi all,

I'm actually waiting on a couple of small sheets of parts from CAF, and those should be here pretty soon, courier dependent. The kit itself landed last week in under 7 days from China, via TNT/FedEx. Pretty quick for these times we currently live in.

IMG_0168.thumb.jpg.ac9086e7488b0db0bf8edf28fb865f6b.jpg

If you haven't already checked out my review for this kit, please do so here:

I still need to dump my photos from camera yet, and I'll wait until I have the first double frame complete. Give me a couple of days or so ;)

Jim

Ok, I've decided to dump down the photos I've currently got on this one as FedEx has twice delayed my missing parts sheets.

Please remember, I've never done a POF before, so this is definitely out of my comfort zone. If you see anything untoward, feel free to make suggestions. 😊 Not sure what timber is used in this kit, but it's very similar to boxwood that I've used in models many years ago, and also at school. It's reasonably yellow, quite hard and with a fine grain. 

All sheets in the kit really need to be numbered as per the parts plan in the rear of the manual. You definitely don't want to mix any of these parts up. Parts removal is also very easy, with some cleanup required on tabs. A small number of the machined surfaces also look a little 'fluffy'. Until everything is sanded, I found that a simple shave/scrape with a blade was sufficient enough to sort it.

DSC_6446.jpg

whoops! upside down numbers!