Slo-mo-shun IV by Blackreed - Billings Boats - 1/12 - hydroplane

Hello all, this is my first build log. This boat has been on my models bucket list for some time, and last December model expo had it marked down and it fit right into my budget.

After 2 months and a lot of searching I was able to get the engine. I was lucky enough to get an Allison 1710 from TDR innovations, I intend to paint it to resemble the Merlin that SLO-mo-shun ran.

My initial take on the kits instructions is some what of a let down, I read through them 3 times, or should I say I looked at the pictures, not understanding any of it, only to decide that I would probably make headway once the parts were in my hands.

The actual wood provided is of good quality, I did also forage around for alternative ideas for the hood, I think I’m good there now, we’ll learn as we go.

62626CE9-E466-4B49-AAE5-8DBE21CF2A1F.jpeg

This is the TDR Innovations engine.

The overall size is great, now I need to sort out the linkage, fuel lines, water and oil lines, how I’m going to do the spark plug wires and if I’m going to be doing the inside set, as this will be impossible to see.

I also need to sort out the intake, as none was provide, simply the carburetors.

The engine needs to be placed so that the crank and the output shaft are in a perfect line.

I also want to build the engine cradle so that I have something to attach the engine to.

My overall opinion of the engine is that it is very nice, it comes with no instructions, so par for the course here, however I’ve identified all the parts and will sort them as I’m ready to paint.

BA1F0C80-B219-42B6-B2B7-72A7B43876D3.jpeg

I assembled the framing along what I believe is the keel. This was pretty easy to figure out.

I only glued the rear frame and squared that with the keel, I then laid in all the following frame pieces, leaving them dry.

I began running the pieces that hold the frame true, gluing each one at 67mm, as per the keel.