Gunboat Philadelphia by John Gummersall - FINISHED - Model Shipways - Scale 1:24

Just starting up the gunboat Philadelphia  build...  I just completed the USN Picket and anxious to get started on the Philadelphia.    I am by no means an expert builder but having a lot of fun along the way. 

One word of warning,,,,, this will be a painfully slow log to follow.  I know most people hate slow logs.   I am not a full time modeler so I only get to work on it when I have some spare time.     Hopefully I will be able to have at least one post a week.   Maybe more,,, 

Rather than have a log and shows only the good stuff I plan to bare my dirty laundry and show a lot of "what not to do when building the Philadelphia".   I will plan to complete the Philadelphia, but it may get ugly along the way...  

One item that I am sure is a "no brainer" to more experienced builders, but is worth mentioning...   The Philadelphia, like most medium/large models has a lot of wood strips of various sizes.    Before you begin, I would suggest you identify each different size of wood strip and label it so you can easily find it later in the build.   The wood strips are very similar in size and no sense rummaging through all the word each time to want a particular size.     Below is my attempt at labeling each strip size.   Does not matter how you label them, but you will save yourself  a lot of grief in the build if you can easily identify each strip as you need it.

PXL_20210320_224911119.thumb.jpg.58c10752e914e93015f929994a98c967.jpg

Starting right in,,,,,

The instructions call to build the false keep, glue the stem and stern posts to it, and then trim the stem and stern posts.   I guess right away I am altering from the instructions,,,  Hope this is not an omen for the future,,,,

To me it is much easier to build the stem and stern posts, trim them, and then attach them to the false keel.