Hi, from an absolute rookie from Barcelona

Hi everybody,

My name is Pascual, i'm in my late 50's and live in a small town close to Barcelona (Catalonia), Spain. 

( from there the nickname)

I'm a complete rookie in wood ship modelling, even i made some plastic kits in my youth, so i have a lot to learn (almost everything).

I hope i would be able to achive a good entry level in next future with all your help, even i think that probably i will make a lot of mistakes and nowadays i haven't got any skills in wood ship modelling.

Already have got two kit models 10-15 years old wich were a gift several years ago, still on their boxes: 

- Palma Nova from manufacturer Artesania Latina

- Albatros from manufacturer Constructo

It seems to me that Palma Nova would be a good first step so i probably would begin with it.

It's a pleasure to be able to share this fantastic forum with everybody and learn from experienced modellers all over the world.

I already read several build logs from the forum and try to learn from them.

I'm deligthed for the work of Vanguard Models in the Speedy and The Duchess of Kingston and only hope i would be able in the future to make this kits when i will increase my skills to do a decent job on them.

Best regards from Barcelona, Pascual.

Hello Pascual and a warm welcome from the UK.

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds:

HMS Berwick 1775, 1/192 scratchbuild; a Slade 74 in the Navy Board style

Mediator sloop, 1/48 - an 18th century transport scratchbuild 

French longboat - CAF - 1/48, on hold

Hi Pascual. Welcome and best of luck on your first project. May I suggest to look at the "More" menu at the top tool ribbon on this site. Is has some really good articles incuding about planking. Your boat looks like a great one to practice that.

Mike